2018 Annual Award Recipients Honored

Illinois ENA announced the recipients of the 2018 Annual Awards. The awards recognize emergency nurses and exemplary supporters of the profession who demonstrate exceptional professional practice, education, innovation and leadership in Illinois.

Award recipients are selected by the Illinois ENA Awards Committee through a blinded process after meeting the specific requirements and criteria for each award. Nominees must be members of Illinois ENA.

Illinois ENA’s highest award, the Merikay Joyce, RN, Meritorious Service Award, was established in 1979 in memory of Mary Catherine (Merikay) Milaney Joyce. This award recognizes a nurse who exemplifies outstanding practice and dedication to the nursing profession as demonstrated by clinical skill, compassion and commitment. This individual is recognized by their peers as an expert in emergency nursing and consistently exhibits professional behavior and commitment to the profession. The 2018 Merikay Joyce, RN, Meritorious Service Award recipient is Thelma Kuska, BSN, RN, CEN, FAEN.

The additional 2018 Annual Award recipients are:

Clinical Leadership Award: Patricia Altman, MSN, RN, CEN
Emergency Medical Services Nursing Award: Leslee Stein-Spencer, MS, RN
Nursing Education Award: Lynn Cabe, BSN, RN, CEN
Nursing Practice Award: Ann Marie Loiacono, MSN, RN
President’s Award: Jason Radke, MMS, PA-C
Quality and Safety Award: Carrie Sinisko, BSN, RN, TNS

Award recipients were recognized throughout the Illinois ENA 44th Annual Spring Symposium and at the Welcome Party, April 19, in Lisle, Illinois.